7 athletes to be inducted at Hall of Fame ceremony

Seven individuals whose contributions have made remarkable impacts on the athletic history of Floyd County will be inducted into the Rome-Floyd Sports Hall of Fame on February 27th. Tickets are now on sale for the event.

From top left, clockwise: David McCluskey, Andy Akin, Johnny Tutt, Alvin Ragland, Mike Hodges, Bonnie Tate Goff and Chris Jefts.

The 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees are Bonnie Tate Goff, Alvin Ragland and David McCluskey for the category of Amateur Athlete, Chris Jefts and Johnny Tutt for the category of Professional Athlete and Andy Akin and Mike Hodges for Lifetime Achievement.

Along with the inductees, 12 area student athletes will be recognized for their achievements, with two being awarded the John Pinson Jr. Outstanding Student Athlete Scholarship.

This year’s student nominees are:

Maddie Dulaney and Will Leonard of Armuchee High School
Cassie McFather of Coosa High School
Anna Claire Atha and Elijah McKoy of Darlington School
Alex Quarles and Hunter Hays of Model High School
Jesse Burkhalter and Jake Ross of Pepperell High School
Morgan Padgett and William Douglas of Rome High School
Hannah Eddins of Unity Christian School

The event includes a reception, banquet and awards ceremony. A social and silent auction will be held at 6 p.m. followed by a seated dinner and awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m.

Tickets are $30 and may be purchased in-person at Rome-Floyd Parks and Recreation Administrative Headquarters at 1 Shorter Avenue. Tickets may also be purchased online at romefloydsportshalloffame.com.

The cost of the Sports Hall of Fame program is solely supported through ticket sales and sponsorships. The event is hosted by the Sports Hall of Fame Committee and Rome-Floyd Parks and Recreation. For questions or to purchase tickets, please call 706.291.0766.

The Sports Hall of Fame was started in 1971 in order to recognize amateur and professional athletes and those who contribute to the growth and development of sports.  Nominations are submitted in four categories: amateur athlete, professional athlete, meritorious service and lifetime achievement. Nominations for the Sports Hall of Fame are submitted by the general public and are received year-round.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: